Google's News AI Pilot Passes 400 Publications as Axios, CNN, the FT and Forbes Join
Google said on 15 October 2026 that more than 400 publications now take part in its News AI pilot, a licensing program that pays publishers for enhanced content used in AI features such as article overviews on Google News publisher pages and audio briefings. New partners include Axios, CNN, the Financial Times and Forbes.

Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates, .
More than 400 publications worldwide now take part in Google's News AI pilot program, a paid licensing scheme under which Google pays publishers for "enhanced content" it uses to build AI features, Google said in a post on The Keyword on 15 October 2026. The newest partners include Axios, CNN, the Financial Times and Forbes, along with US local publishers such as the Post and Courier, the Texas Tribune, Oil City News and Shaw Media.
The update came a day before trade publication Digiday reported details of a separate AI content deal between Google and UK publisher Reach.
What Google announced
Google said the pilot launched last year with early partners including The Washington Examiner and The Washington Post. It did not give a launch date or a full partner list. The post says:
- Google pays participating publications for the delivery and use of enhanced content to develop new AI features.
- Current features include in-depth article overviews on Google News publisher pages, which give readers context before they click.
- Another feature is customisable audio briefings.
- Google says the features carry clear attribution and direct links to the source publications.
The post is filed under Google News and Search. It does not say whether licensed content is used in AI Overviews or AI Mode in Google Search, and it does not give payment terms.
| Partner type | Publications named by Google |
|---|---|
| Early partners | The Washington Examiner, The Washington Post |
| New global partners | Axios, CNN, The Financial Times, Forbes |
| New US local partners | Post and Courier, Texas Tribune, Oil City News, Shaw Media |
| Total participating | More than 400 publications worldwide |
The Reach deal
On 16 October Digiday reported that Reach, which publishes the Daily Express, the Daily Star and OK! Magazine, has given Google paid access to expanded rights to use news content from its UK and Ireland titles. According to Digiday, Google can use the content in experimental AI features and new ways of delivering news, and the two companies will test whether those features engage readers.
Digiday said it understands the deal runs for two years; payment terms were not disclosed. Reach chief executive Piers North described it as time-limited and as a framework for future agreements. Digiday also reported that Reach has sent OpenAI a cease-and-desist letter and that Reach has recorded more than 100 million successful scrapes of its content in the past six months.
The Digiday article cites a figure of over 200 publications in Google's news AI pilot. Google's own post, published the day before, gives the current figure as more than 400.
Context: other Google data programs
The News AI pilot is a licensing program in which Google pays publishers for content. It is separate from other recent Google programs that involve data flowing between Google and sites. On 8 October Google added documentation for a UGC Fresh Data Program, through which forums and other user-generated content sites can apply to send new posts to Search. Google also runs the European Search Dataset Licensing Program, which works in the opposite direction: Google makes an anonymised search dataset available to qualifying recipients to comply with Article 6(11) of the EU Digital Markets Act.
Google has not said that taking part in the News AI pilot affects how a publisher ranks in Search or appears in Google News.
What this means for SEO teams
- Publishers should expect more AI summaries on Google News surfaces. Google says the article overviews appear on publisher pages in Google News. Teams should check how their own publisher page renders and whether links from overviews show up in referral data.
- Audio briefings are a new distribution point. Google has not said how listens or clicks from audio briefings are reported to publishers. Ask for that data before relying on it.
- Licensing is now a commercial channel, not just a crawl setting. The Reach deal shows publishers negotiating paid rights with Google while taking legal steps against crawlers they have no deal with. Editorial and legal teams should know which AI crawlers access their content and on what terms.
- Do not assume a ranking effect. Neither Google's post nor the Digiday report says that participation changes rankings. Treat any such claim as unconfirmed.
- Watch for the full partner list. Google named 10 publications out of more than 400. Competitors in your vertical may already be in the program.
Conclusion
Google's News AI pilot has grown to more than 400 paying partnerships worldwide, with Axios, CNN, the Financial Times and Forbes among the latest. Google pays for enhanced content used in article overviews and audio briefings on Google News, and says those features carry attribution and direct links.
Google has not disclosed payment terms, launch dates or whether licensed content feeds AI features in Search itself. Publishers weighing a deal, or competing with partners that have one, should press for referral and attribution data before judging the value.
Questions and answers
What is Google's News AI pilot program?
It is a licensing program in which Google pays participating news publications for the delivery and use of enhanced content to develop new AI features, according to Google's 15 October 2026 post.
How many publications are in the program?
Google says more than 400 publications worldwide now participate.
Which publications have joined?
Google named early partners The Washington Examiner and The Washington Post, and newer partners Axios, CNN, the Financial Times, Forbes, Post and Courier, Texas Tribune, Oil City News and Shaw Media.
What AI features use the licensed content?
Google cites in-depth article overviews on Google News publisher pages and customisable audio briefings, which it says include clear attribution and direct links.
Does joining the pilot affect rankings?
Google's post does not say that participation affects how a publisher ranks in Search or appears in Google News.
More releases
-
Industry news
ChatGPT Links Lost UTM Tags After GPT-6, Shifting About 26,000 Daily Visits to Direct in One Sample
For about a week after GPT-6 launched on 7 October 2026, ChatGPT links lost the utm_source=chatgpt.com tag and referrer, so analytics tools logged visits as direct. One analysis of about 500 pages found ChatGPT visits down about 31,000 a day. A fix reportedly began rolling out on 15 October.
-
Studies
Google Lists 2,181 Crawler IP Prefixes; a Legacy File Still Serves a March Copy Missing 9 Ranges
A SaaS Link Building analysis of Google's five crawler and fetcher IP files on 17 October 2026 counted 2,181 prefixes and 104,608 IPv4 addresses. Four legacy addresses now redirect to the new /crawling/ipranges/ path, but the old user-triggered-agents.json still serves a 3 March copy missing nine IPv4 ranges.
-
Updates
Google Rewrites Indexing API Quota Docs, Drops 2024 Approval Language but Keeps 200 a Day Default
Google updated three Indexing API documentation pages on 16 October 2026, removing text that called the default quota a testing allowance needing approval, along with the quota request form. The default of 200 publish requests a day per project and the limit to job posting and livestream pages are unchanged.
Tell us the site and the goals.
Rankings in Google and visibility in AI answers, from one monthly plan. One call is enough to say which one fits. Email works just as well.